Reader Q and A: Glow Headphones

Since I posted an unboxing video and review of the Glow headphones, I’ve had many questions and my YouTube Channel has been pumped with inquiries seeking more info about the product.

It’s my understanding this gadget started on Kickstarter, and I’ve heard from several backers who say they’ve been left in the dark about the product they helped get to market, and they’re looking for some answers.

I’ll answer some of the questions I’ve been asked about the headphones as best I can, but it should be noted I’m a blogger and reviewer and not affiliated with Glow in any way.  My answers are based on my experience with the set I was sent for a review, so I’m afraid I can’t answer any questions about whether this is the final or exact product Glow will ship to backers. (Though it’s worth noting the headphones are currently for sale on the Bell.ca website for $199 CAD.)

These questions below reference back to a mini-review and unboxing video I posted at the end of November.  Please read and watch those for further details on the headphones. Since then I’ve been able to spend more time testing the headphones and can answer some of the questions I’ve been sent.

IMG_8523

Question: Is the package you received the final product shipping?

A: I don’t know. I received a set from a public relations contact, and they went on sale on at least one website several days later, so I assume so.

IMG_8526Question: Is that little bag the carrying case? We all were expecting a nice little case given the renders they made for us on KS and the fact we reached the milestone to get one. That bag is causing quite the uproar.

A: The little bag that comes with the phones is a faux velvet with string pull-ties. I’d say it feels synthetic, not luxurious. That said, I think it’s fine for what it’ll be used for.

The charging cable in the box was unusual; it’s not a full USB charger, it’s a flat piece of plastic with copper connectors. I’ve never used one like it before. (Photos below)

IMG_8525Question: Did it come with any more ear tips? It was supposed to include different sizes, we didn’t see any in your unboxing.

Yes, it comes with a total of 6 different pairs of tips (4 extras, 2 on the phones); both the in-ear size and the hooks for holding it in place. I didn’t find any of them fit particularly well, or felt comfortable, and I found the phones slipping easily from my ears. I have a similar shaped set of Adidas/Monster in-ear headphones with the little hooks and they are comfortable and lock in place very well. These are not at all like that.  I’d be afraid to run in these.  But this could just be my own ear shape/size.

IMG_8530

Microphone

I also felt the headphones themselves were quite light. While that’s good for portability, they didn’t feel substantial, and didn’t have the heft of other quality headphones I’ve tested this year.

The laser cables are also rather stiff, which I think contributes to them popping out easily.

Question: About the controller; How does it feel in hand? Lightweight cheap Chinese plastic, or something that looks like they put some thought into (especially considering the many delays they claimed in making it feel premium).IMG_8531

A: The controller feels very lightweight, and to use your word, “cheap”. In fact, the controller case broke open on me after a couple days, and I can’t get it to snap back together. The top with the button markings lifted off the rest of the puck, exposing the guts. I’d be concerned about its durability if I owned one. I would definitely not describe these headphones as feeling “premium”.

Question: How would you characterize the sound quality? I currently and using a pair of Beats in-ears and expect for something costing almost double to at least sound the same given the Glow. I’ve also had Bose in-ears that were even better than those.IMG_8535

I compared these to another in-ear style I have (Monster Adidas), and while it’s similar in sound quality, the Monsters feel better to me. (I also think the lack of being able to get a good in-ear fit plays into this too.) I also felt like there was noticeably less bass in the Glows. It sounded noticably tinnier (treblier??) and the Glow just didn’t give me that richness of sound that I’ve had with higher-end headphones, even when I pushed them further into my ears to get a good seal.

I then tried the Glows against an over ear style by Jabra.  There was no competition.  The sound quality of the Jabras was far and away better than the Glow.

IMG_8527

Glow inner case/round box with foam pad

Question: Would I buy the Glow headphones?

A: I wouldn’t for myself.  I didn’t like the fit, the weight, and I was disappointed at how quickly the controller broke. I also think there’s much better sounding headphones out there on the market. I would, however,  get these for a kid or a teenager, since the glowing mechanism is really cool, and it works well, and since teens and kids are probably less concerned with top quality fidelity than many adults, though these are rather expensive for something for a child to use. Overall it’s a really neat and unique new product, and I’d like to see a second generation of the Glow, if and when that happens.

More questions on the new Glow Headphones? Ask away in comments below.

IMG_8524

Extras are hidden under flaps in the box.

IMG_8534

Back side of the controller

 

 

9 thoughts on “Reader Q and A: Glow Headphones

  1. Hey Erin,
    Thank you so much for doing this. I already posted this in the KS comments. The carrying case I can live with, the fact your controller already broke is concerning. The ear tips seem to be similar to the beats in-ears, but still by far and away my favorite are the bose tips. Still, its something that needs to be tried before immediately putting down.

    On the production side of things, we are expecting shipments starting on the 14th. It was delayed again because they had to change contract manufactures due to quality concerns and production targets missed. There is hope the products we will actually be receiving will be of a little better quality.

    The controller breaking is a big concern. I looked at your video and pictures in depth and compared them to the KS update videos. One of them showed a side by side comparison between a new version addressing the button gap on the controller. While yours does seem to have all the new version changes, the gap on your controller from the very beginning is larger than even the old versions gap. So it may have just been a bad one.

    Thanks again

  2. Wow Erin, thanks so much for the review. I guess we can assume at this point that this kickstarter project was quite a disappointment but of course we will have to see for ourselves once the final product is delivered to us.

    Thanks again for the review, you’ve done more for us than the entire Glow team has in months. You’ve earned yourself a fan and a reader 🙂

  3. During Glow’s campaign, this was said “In terms of existing products, ours is designed to be on par with the likes of Shure SE215 and far exceed what you would get out of a pair of Beat Tour earbuds.” Can you agree with that or no?

  4. During Glow’s campaign, this was said “In terms of existing products, ours is designed to be on par with the likes of Shure SE215 and far exceed what you would get out of a pair of Beat Tour earbuds.” can you agree with this or no?

  5. Thanks for both the articles, specially this one, answered lot of question.
    I have a question, how is the glow in day light? Is it visible enough. I saw most of the picture and videos from glow are in the dark.

    Thanks

Leave a comment